COOKBOOK REVIEW: The NEW American Heart Association Cookbook 2017

Year in and year out, the American Heart Associations puts out one of the best cookbooks and they didn’t disappoint with the ninth edition that recently came out. This new copy, called The New American Heart Association Cookbook is revised, updated, and has more than 100 new recipes. In fact, there are over 800 recipes in this hardcover book.

The goal of the cookbook, in which it states on the back of the book, is to offer healthy eating all year long with heart healthy foods. It was hard for me to remember that these are good, heart-smart recipes. I was earmarking pages left and right for recipes that I wanted to make.

As you go through the book, it starts out explaining healthy eating for a healthy heart. What to include in your diet; fruits and vegetables, whole grains, low-fat dairy, oily fish, skinless poultry, lean cut meats and more. Then, with each of the examples I just gave you, they break it down further and tell you why you need these and reference recipes in the book. From there they go into how you should have a healthy lifestyle; maintaining a healthy weight, don’t smoke, drink in moderation, and so on.

Next, comes the recipes. Like I mentioned earlier, 800 in all. The recipe sections are broken down into Appetizers, Snacks, and Beverages; Soups; Salads and Dressings; Slow-Cooker Recipes; Seafood; Poultry; Meats; Vegetarian Entrees; Vegetable and Side Dishes; Sauces and Gravies; Breads and Breakfast Dishes; and finally Desserts.

And you know it’s going to be a good cookbook when they have the Bayou Red Beans and Rice recipe! They have a lot of Creole/Cajun themed dishes besides the red beans: Red Beans and Couscous; Crispy Cajun Catfish Nuggets; Cajun Chicken Salad; Chicken Jambalaya; Creole Seasoning; Seafood Jambalaya; Louisiana Gumbo; and there’s more. There are so many good recipes in this book. They are well written, easy to follow, contain the serving size, nutritional facts, and most include ‘Cook’s tips‘ along with a small blurb on the dish.

My favorite part – or chapter – is the Poultry section. My family loves chicken. It’s one of the only things that my kids will eat. Granted there are multiple recipes on each page, but there are around 60 pages of chicken/turkey recipes. And as I was going through the recipes – even in other sections also – I was like my family would eat that, they’d eat this, they’d eat that… and that’s hard to do with some cookbooks.

I was given a copy of The New American Heart Association Cookbook in exchange for an honest review. Honestly, this is one of my favorite cookbooks. I look forward to their cookbooks every year because I know that the recipes come out amazing and that they are healthy for me and my family – and for you. If you’re looking to make healthy choices with your cooking, look no further.


Do you own this cookbook? Let us know what you think of it in the comment section below. We’d love to hear your thoughts!


Be sure to subscribe to Red Beans & Eric to receive all the new recipes, interviews, reviews, and more that are published here. You can contact me at any time by clicking here, leaving a comment below, or on any of the social media sites that I am on.

Thank you for stopping by!

Eric

Leave a Reply

