Swedish Sausage – Dopp i Grytan – And My Creole/Cajun Inspired Version

Swedish Sausage Dopp i grytan by RedBeansAndEric.com!I call it Swedish Sausage. I cook it similar to the popular Swedish Christmas time dish called dopp i grytan, but I add some extras. Dopp i grytan translates to ‘dip-in-the-pot’. What you do is boil your ham in water. That broth that you create from the ham, you save it and serve it with bread. You just keep dunking the bread in the broth and that’s it. The meal has been around since medieval times and is still a staple in Sweden.

Swedish Sausage Dopp i grytan by RedBeansAndEric.com!What I do (and if I don’t have ham broth, I use any other kind of broth I have on hand), is heat the broth up to a boil, add some cut up sausage, sliced onions, bay leaves, white pepper, and soy sauce to the pot and let it cook for about 15 minutes covered up. When I serve the sausage, I serve it in a bowl with all of the broth and with a side of buttered bread or my favorite, WASA bread.

And to add a more Creole/Cajun twist on this Swedish classic?

You substitute the regular, or Holiday Kielbasa that I like to use with Andouille Sausage, throw in a dash or five of tabasco sauce, a shake of Creole seasoning, and top the sausage off with some Creole mustard. It’s amazing! The next time that I make this I’m planning on adding a teaspoon or two of crab boil to the pot. Then, instead of regular white bread or WASA bread, serve this with some hot French bread to soak up the broth.

This dish is not only great on the Christmas or Easter menu, but anytime throughout the year. Let me know what you think of the recipe in the comment section below. Njut av! Or, enjoy!


Swedish Sausage Dopp i grytan by RedBeansAndEric.com!SWEDISH SAUSAGE*

1 lbs sausage, cut into bite sized pieces, about 2-inches
6 cups of ham broth**
1 onion, sliced
2 bay leaves
3 tsp soy sauce
1 tbsp dried parsley
1 tsp white pepper
mustard for serving
buttered bread for serving

Bring the broth to a boil in a pot. Add all of the remaining ingredients except for the mustard and stir. Let the pot come back to a boil, then cover and reduce heat to low. Cook for 15 minutes.

Place the sausage and sliced onions into a bowl with the broth. Serve with buttered bread for dipping into the broth and I also like to add mustard to the sausage. Enjoy!

* see the notes above if you would like to make the Creole/Cajun inspired version of the dish. The substitutions are noted there.

** any broth or stock will do beside the ham broth.


Be sure to subscribe to Red Beans & Eric to receive all the new recipes, interviews, reviews, and more that are published here. You can contact me at anytime by clicking here, leaving a comment below, or on any of the social media sites that I am on.

Thank you for stopping by!

Eric

Leave a Reply

