Commander’s Palace Turtle Soup

I’ve been receiving emails requesting that I find and repost recipes that were lost in the Great Debacle of ’16 when I lost all of the content here on the website. There are a lot of recipes that I still can’t find and I fear that are simple gone. So far I’ve been pretty lucky finding some of the more popular ones – now’s finding the time to potentially remake the dish so I can add the pictures here. But I’ve also received a few emails asking for a recipe that I’ve never posted or made before – like Commander’s Palace Turtle Soup.

Henry emailed me looking for the recipe and I was able to track it down with the help of my friends at the Louisiana Kitchen & Culture magazine. LK&C is an amazing magazine! If you don’t subscribe already, you won’t be disappointed. They share some great recipes and stories in each magazine. I have saved every issue since they’ve started.

As for the Turtle Soup. I’ve never made it before, nor have I ever ordered it. But turtle is a popular food in Louisiana and this soup is a legendary meal at Commander’s Palace. The soup is thick and could almost be considered a stew or a gumbo.

To make this recipe at home, and you’re searching for turtle meat, try an Asian market. They should sell it there. If you’re can’t find it, or don’t wish to use turtle meat, you can substitute beef or veal.

Thanks for the email, Henry!

Have you had the famous Turtle Soup at Commander’s Palace, or made this recipe at home? Tell us how it was in the comments below!

from Louisiana Kitchen & Culture magazine.
from Louisiana Kitchen & Culture magazine.

COMMANDER’S PALACE TURTLE SOUP

2 ½ sticks unsalted butter, in all
¾ cup all-purpose flour
1 pound turtle meat, cut into ½-inch cubes
1 cup minced celery
2 medium onions, minced
1 ½ teaspoons garlic, minced
3 bay leaves
1 teaspoon oregano
½ teaspoon thyme
½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 ½ cups tomato purée
1 quart beef stock (add turtle bones when making the stock, if available)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste as needed
½ cup lemon juice
5 hard boiled eggs, finely chopped
1 tablespoon minced parsley
6 teaspoons dry sherry

For the directions on how to prepare this recipe, please visit Louisiana Kitchen & Culture’s website for the Turtle Soup.


To get the real Turtle Soup, be sure to visit Commander’s Palace in the historic Garden District of New Orleans. They are located at 1403 Washington Avenue, just steps from the St. Charles Avenue streetcar line. You can contact them  at 504.899.8221, or by visiting them at http://www.commanderspalace.com.


Be sure to subscribe to Red Beans & Eric to receive all the new recipes, interviews, reviews, and more that are published here. You can contact me at anytime by clicking here, leaving a comment below, or on any of the social media sites that I am on.

Thank you for stopping by!

Eric

Leave a Reply

