Spicy Oven Chicken

Spicy Bakes Chicken by Red Beans and Eric!It’s been hard, but I’ve been trying to eat healthier. One of the hardest foods to avoid is fried chicken. Well, fried anything to be honest with you. My wife and I have been on the 21-Day Fix diet plan by BeachBody. So far, I’ve lost about 20-some pounds using their eat clean, exercise, and watch portion system. Since I started watching what I’m eating and exercising, I’ve lost close to 40-pounds. Beside using the BeachBody system, there was also a stomach flu in there too that cause me to drop a few pounds.

I feel great. And after exercising I hate to put junk food into my body. Though I don’t consider fried chicken or pizza junk, I have cut back on eating them and it shows. I’ve never really been a big sweets eater anyway so that hasn’t been a problem. One of my biggest challenges, besides the leg day workout, is avoiding my bowl of chips and dip every night. Nights are my toughest – especially after working late.

But eating clean and eating healthy doesn’t mean having to eat bland food. So, to get a meal that has some crunch,  I put together a healthier alternative to fried chicken, one of my family’s newest favorite dinner: Spicy Oven Chicken! This recipe offers a great crunch and a great combination of flavors. I’ve eaten the chicken like how it’s in the photos – by itself with veggies – and also served over spaghetti noodles and topped with sauce and mozzarella cheese. For leftovers, I like to slice the chicken up and add it to a chopped salad.

If you are using the 21-Day Fix diet, let me know how you’re doing the comment section below. To calculate this meal, for each serving, it’s 1 RED, 1 YELLOW. That’s it. Keep checking back as I add more and more 21-Day Fix meals – including a great pizza!


Spicy Bakes Chicken by Red Beans and Eric!SPICY OVEN CHICKEN

1 lbs boneless chicken breast
1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs
1 tsp Creole seasoning
1 tsp garlic powder
1 tsp onion powder
1 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp ground thyme
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 tsp white pepper
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

In a small bowl, mix together the breadcrumbs along with all of the spices.

Dredge the chicken pieces into the breadcrumb mixture; make sure each piece is well coated. Place the coated chicken onto a wire rack that’s on top of a baking sheet.

Spicy Bakes Chicken by Red Beans and Eric!

Place the chicken in the oven and bake for 10 minutes. After 10 minutes, flip each piece and return to the oven for an additional 15 minutes; or until the chicken is fully cooked through.


Be sure to subscribe to Red Beans & Eric to receive all the new recipes, interviews, reviews, and more that are published here. You can contact me at anytime by clicking here, leaving a comment below, or on any of the social media sites that I am on.

Thank you for stopping by!

Eric

Spicy Bakes Chicken by Red Beans and Eric!

2 thoughts on “Spicy Oven Chicken

Leave a Reply

