The Forgotten Once Jambalaya

Forgotten Once Jambalaya recipe from Red Beans and Eric!In 2012, I was playing around with ingredients for a crock pot jambalaya recipe – I love using the crock pot – especially on workdays or days that I need to be out and about. I also love tinkering around with ingredients and coming up with different recipes. What’s new? I published this recipe like I did with every other one I created and out of nowhere, this recipe became hugely popular and shared all over the place. The Huffington Post even shared it! Amazing. After having that first bowl I knew something was special about it, but I never expected this.

Thank you all for making this, sharing it, and continuing to love this recipe as much as I do. I appreciate all the emails, messages, and comments telling me how you made it for a party, or a work function, or simply for the family on a work night. Amazing.

Red Beans & Eric's FORGOTTEN ONCE JAMBALAYA: Stove Top Version
WANT TO MAKE THE STOVE TOP VERSION OF THIS RECIPE? CLICK HERE!

This recipe is amazing. I hear it all the time. I’m always asked if I’m going to make it at an event that I’m having at the house. Other family members even tell me when they make it for get togethers at their house – which makes me wonder why I wasn’t invited…. Auntie Lisa???

If you haven’t tried this recipe, I promise you, it’ll be one of the greatest jambalaya recipes you’ll ever have. Don’t believe me? Check out the comments below. And don’t forget to share your story and pictures of this recipe. I’d love to see them. You can share them below, or on any of the social media sites I’m on.

Don’t forget, if you have any leftover, or just want a different way for serving this jambalaya recipe, check out this Jambalaya Stuffed Bell Pepper recipe.

Again, thank you so much for sharing this recipe!


The Forgotten Once Jambalaya recipe by Red Beans & Eric!FORGOTTEN ONCE JAMBALAYA

1 lbs boneless chicken breasts or boneless thighs
1 lbs smoked sausage, cut to ¼-inch rounds
1 10-oz can Rotel tomatoes with chiles, undrained
1 14-oz can chicken stock
1 6-oz can tomato paste
1 onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, diced
3 celery ribs, chopped
5 garlic cloves
3 tsp parsley flakes
2 tsp dried basil
1 1/2 tsp dried oregano
1 1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp hot sauce
1 cup instant rice, uncooked *
1 lbs shrimp (optional)
green onion for garnish

The Forgotten Once Jambalaya recipe by Red Beans & Eric!

Place the chicken in the bottom of the crock pot along with the sausage. Combine the tomatoes, broth, tomato paste and the seasonings in a small mixing bowl. Add diced vegetables to the crock pot then top with the tomato mixture.

Set your cook time. I cooked mine for 8 hours using frozen boneless chicken breasts. You can use thawed chicken breasts/thighs and cook for 4-6 hours on ‘high’.

Once the crock pot has finished, use forks and shred the chicken in the pot. Adjust the flavoring and add the hot sauce if desired.

At this point, there are 2 different steps when dealing with the rice for this recipe:

1. Cook one cup of white rice separately. When the cooking time is done, fold the cooked rice into the crock pot.
2. You can use instant rice with 30-minutes remaining. Just like above, make sure the rice is well mixed into the ingredients.

After the rice is added, with 30-minutes of cooking time remaining, this is the point you would add thawed shrimp to the crock pot.


Be sure to subscribe to Red Beans & Eric to receive all the new recipes, interviews, reviews, and more that are published here. You can contact me at anytime by clicking here, leaving a comment below, or on any of the social media sites that I am on.

Thank you for stopping by!

Eric

 

 

75 thoughts on “The Forgotten Once Jambalaya

    1. This was very good. I cooked it in the crockpot for 5 hrs on high and served it with angel hair pasta (like Italian Oven does) and hot crusty bread dipped in evoo and Dukkah. Yummy!
      Thank you for the recipe.

  1. Being from New Orleans & having two grandmothers cooking creole for me since forever, I think I have the experience to say this with credibility…. THIS is some of the BEST jambalaya I have ever had. It reminded me of my childhood. I made it at home & the hubby and myself were hooked. SOOOO good! I’m making it again this weekend and I’m adding shrimp to the mix. Thanks for sharing what has become one of my favorite recipes!

  2. I’m about to make this-did you use frozen chicken? 10 hours seems like a long time for thawed chicken in the crockpot.

    I am so excited about this!!

  3. Having lived in the Southwest my whole life, I know very little about Cajun and Creole foods, other than I like them. I love okra, but would it be an abomination to put it in this? Maybe like 45 minutes before it’s ready?

  4. What temperature setting did you use on your crockpot? Was thinking maybe you used a lower setting for the 10 hour cook time. Can’t wait to try this, TKU for the post.

  5. Look delicious. How much rice should I cook up? I don;t wanna make too much and have it be too thick. 1 cup you reckon? Thanks 🙂

  6. I made this today — it was amazing!! I started it way too late in the day so I had to do two hours on high and four hours on low. I used chicken thighs and when I went to shred them, they were so tender that they had already shredded themselves.

    Can I recommend updating the list of ingredients to include the “optional” shrimp? I made my grocery list based off of the ingredients and didn’t get them because it wasn’t there. I will grab them the next time I make this! It might help to also show 1C of cooked rice — might lead to less questions!

    Thanks for a great recipe! This is going into the regular dinner rotation.

  7. made this for my superbowl party and it was outstanding. My wife wants to know the nutritional info before i add it to the regular rotation for meals. any data you could provide would be great.

      1. Hi do you have a different link for the stove top recipe ? Because the one you listed doesn’t exist

  8. I made this a few weeks ago with my boyfriend and it was delicious…His friend is in from out of town so I’m making it tomorrow. I just finished prepping it all by myself. Decided to add paprika, and we used chorizo…Looking forward to eating it tomorrow. This recipe was a great find 😀

  9. I’m making this tomorow!! I cant wait, my boyfriend has been talking about jambalaya for weeks and this seems like the best recipe for it!!

  10. I just made this today with Aidell’s Cajun Andouille…it is simply fabulous! I did use a couple extra ounces of chicken stock, I use organic free range and didn’t want to pour the extra down the drain so I just added it. This makes a fabulous gluten-free spicy meal! The Florida pink shrimp are sweet and so delish in the spicy broth, I will certainly be making this again! I love that the ingredients are all fresh and you can use organic if you like, no chemicals or added flavors or abundance of salt. I have a Cajun/Creole cooking background from cooking in a restaurant years ago, and this is something I would make and serve to anyone. Great job with this recipe, it is clean, balanced, and very flavorful. The ONLY change I would make would be to use bone in breasts as they add a delicious flavor and a better textured chicken. But that is just my personal preference.

  11. This is one of the best recipes I have ever made. It is so nice just to throw everything in the crockpot and not have to worry about it. I get asked to make this quite often. I am making it tomorrow for a family birthday party. Thanks so much for sharing!!

  12. Made this for an office potluck. Everyone loved it, and I had to print off the recipe for one of the guys at the office. I don’t normally try recipes blind, but this one looked so good I chanced it. Glad I did. Because my husband is allergic to shrimp I did two pounds of chicken and one pound of smoked Louisiana sausage. Because cooking rice at the party would be a pain I included 1 cup of instant rice to add 30 minutes before serving. Worked out really well, also saved me from dirtying another pot. Thank you for this recipe!

    1. Thanks so much for the message, Rebecca! This is a very popular potluck recipe. I’m glad you all enjoyed it. My wife is allergic to shrimp also so I don’t add it to the pot. That’s a great idea to double up the chicken. Thanks again for sharing your story and the recipe to your coworker. Make sure they leave a comment here letting me know what they think of it.

  13. This is such a great recipe and is a fave in our house!! 🙂 Making it for dinner tonight and the fam is excited 🙂

  14. This Jambalaya is delicious!! I cook most of my meals from recipes found on Pinterest and this is my first review to leave. My husband loved it and my picky kids even ate some and liked it! I’ve served this to groups and I always have to share the recipe! I can’t imagine you will find an easier jambalaya that tastes this great!
    I’ve never added the shrimp but I am this week. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us!!

  15. I’m making this for 18 people….how much should I make? I was thinking 1/4 c rice per person so multiply the recipe times 5ish? Or more? That’s 5 lbs of chicken and 5 lbs of sausage. I can totally do more just don’t wanna over do it!
    Thanks!

    1. I’m sorry you’re having problems printing this, Cheryl. I’ve been testing it and have no problems on my end. You can always try as ‘tech support’ recommends – turn off your device then turn back on, it ‘should’ work then… Good luck!

  16. Hey, how many does your recipe serve? 8 or 10? Is that 1 c. per serving? Am trying to calculate “Smart Points” for Weight Watchers (this recipe looks like a good fit with some minor adjustments) and I need to know how many it serves – give or take. Thanks in advance – Karen

    1. Hi, Karen! I usually get about 8 servings per meal – sometimes less depending on my serving spoon and size of the bowl and my hunger level… I hope your version comes up great. Visit me on my Facebook page and share your pictures of the meal.

  17. Do you have any experience with freezing this? I would love to be able to freeze the leftovers for a quick and easy meal another day.

    1. Hi, Alyssa! I have frozen this before. WHen it thaws out the rice softens so it’s a bit mushy. You can do two things if you know that you need to freeze this:

      1) Undercook the rice so it isn’t as tender, then when it thaws, it won’t be as mushy.

      2) Don’t include the rice at the end of cooking, freeze everything but the rice. Then when you thaw it out to eat, cook the rice then, then add it to the rest of the ingredients.

      I hope this helps. Thanks for stopping by and commenting – I appreciate it!

  18. I made this tonight, it was fantastic! Cooked the rice separately and added at the end, otherwise followed as written. Used jumbo shrimp cut in half. Wonderful! Thank you!

  19. Hi! I’ve made this recipe before and it is SO delicious! I was wondering if it would be possible to make it with just shrimp? Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday so I won’t be eating meat, but really was craving this! 🙂
    Thank you!

    1. I don’t know, Lauren. The chicken and sausage part gives it that heartiness.

      Have you made Shrimp Creole? That’s pretty much what this recipe becomes without the chicken or the sausage I guess.

      I’m glad you enjoy this recipe! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  20. Hello! I may have missed this in the post somewhere, but what size slow cooker are you using for this recipe? I would love to try it and just want to make sure I make any adjustments for size if needed. Thanks!

  21. This sounds delicious! Do you adjust the amount of liquid depending on the rice method? I assume it would end up thicker if dry rice was stirred in.

    1. Yes, if you stir in the dry rice, the rice would soak up the liquid as opposed to cooking the rice separate in which the liquid would still be there. One way I’ve also done it was drained as much liquid from the pot as possible once it was done cooking, then used that liquid to cook the rice – on the stove top. Then I mixed the rice into the slow cooker once it was done. Anyway I did it though, the recipe has come out amazing!

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment!

  22. I’ll be making this next Monday, but have some friends coming that have very little spice tolerance. How spicy does this turn out to be with the cayenne and hot sauce? Would it be better to leave those out, and let people add hot sauce at the end as they see fit?

    1. Hi! For that many, I’d double it just to be safe. That would at least allow for seconds. If you did have plenty of leftovers, this freezes great. I hope you all enjoy! Let us know how it turns out!

      1. So good!!! I doubled the recipe with no issue. However, I couldn’t fit the rice in the pot. So I halved the broth so it wouldn’t be as liquid yet and scooped the jambalaya onto the rice. And there’s enough for the 3 of us for lunch tomorrow! It got absolutely devoured.

      2. I’m glad you enjoyed the jambalaya! I do that with the rice a lot when I make it; I drain liquid from the crock pot and use that to cook the rice in. Once the rice in cooked (on the stove top), I fold it into the jambalaya in the crock pot.

        Thanks for stopping by and letting me know how it went for you!

Leave a Reply

